Library

Located on the first and second floors of the recently renovated historic Candler Hospital, Savannah Law School’s law library and staff offer a wide range of services. Our collection features Georgia and Florida materials as well as other standard resources. The new library has shelving for 10,000 volumes, and the library staff is currently building a strong collection of legal treatises and supporting monographs. Acquisition decisions are guided primarily by curricular and faculty considerations in conjunction with students’ educational needs.

Study aids and course reserve titles are held at the circulation desk, and the remainder of the collection is shelved throughout the first and second floors. Savannah Law School users can also take advantage of the considerable library resources and staff at Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School. Search the joint catalog below to locate items at both Savannah Law School and Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School.

Group Study Rooms

These four rooms can be reserved for two hour time slots at the circulation desk. Group use (2 or more) takes precedence over individual use. Reservations are limited to 48 hours in advance. The full study room policy is posted near the rooms and at the front desk.

Computer Lab

Students have access to several PCs which are linked to a network printer. These have desktop shortcuts for research services and Microsoft Office software.

Online Research

The library maintains subscriptions to Westlaw, Bloomberg Law and HeinOnline. Also the library staff can provide access to GALILEO and its hundreds of full-text journals. The Atlanta staff can also provide access to LLMC and the Making of Modern Law databases. Please contact Mr. Lytle or Ms. Zeigler with any questions about these services.

Westlaw provides extensive access to case law, state and federal statutes, secondary sources, law journals, law reviews, KeyCite, and news. The Study Aids subscription also provides electronic access to materials such as Nutshell Guides, the Exam Pro series, and Hornbooks.

Bloomberg Law is a legal research platform providing access to primary sources, such as state and federal statutes and case law, BCite, Bloomberg News, and Bloomberg’s proprietary company information.

Lexis and Lexis Advance provide comprehensive access to case law, statutes and regulations, legislative history, news, Shepard’s citation service, and secondary sources.

HeinOnline provides searchable PDF access to selected law reviews and law journals, the Federal Register, Congressional Documents Collection, and historical documents stretching back to the mid-19th century.

GALILEO is a service provided by the University System of Georgia, offering free access to hundreds of full-text scholarly journals. Ask a librarian for the current password.

JSTOR contains a wide variety of full-text scholarly journals in non-legal fields.Historical coverage dating back to the early 20th century is available for many publications.;

Training Sessions

The library offers introductory and advanced classes in the use of our electronic databases. Upon request, we will also schedule individual sessions.

Interlibrary Loan

Need something not in our collection? The library can obtain most desired books, or articles through ILL. Requests can be made in person or via email: rlytle@savannahlawschool.org or szeigler@savannahlawschool.org

Online Catalog

The Savannah Law School Library shares its holdings with Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School library. Any circulating title found there can be sent to Savannah for our patrons’ use. Non-circulating materials can be scanned and sent to Savannah Law School Library users. The catalog can be searched here.

Legal Community

Savannah attorneys and members of any state bar and other legal professionals are welcome to use the library.