The Michael J. Lynch Law Library

 

 

WElcome to the Law Library

 

 

 Atlanta's John Marshall Law School Library provides students, faculty, and staff with access to all legal materials necessary to learn the methodology of legal research and to conduct the research essential to legal practice and scholarship.

The primary function of the law library is to support the Law School curriculum and faculty research. Although chiefly intended to serve the students and the faculty of the Law School, the library is open during its posted hours:

Monday - Friday - 8:00am - 6:00pm

Saturday - Closed

Sunday - Closed


The library utilizes an online public access catalog. The database contains bibliographic and call number information according to the Library of Congress Classification system, for all the Atlanta's John Marshall Law School Library holdings.

The Law Library's collection contains books in print, as well as computer resources. The library provides materials in American law and selected areas of international law. Print resources include appellate case reports and the federal government, statutes of Georgia, the southeastern states, and the United States, serials, and a collection of topical legal treatises covering national and state law. The library also collects videotapes and audiotapes. The available materials are maintained in our collection.

All students and faculty enjoy direct and unlimited access to the massive online legal databases of Westlaw and LexisNexis. These databases provide the equivalent of millions of volumes, and terabytes of data. Law students have use of high-speed printers on a local network for optimum access to Westlaw and LexisNexis and to the rapidly increasing universe of legal materials available through the Internet. In addition, the library is wired to permit laptop PC's to connect to the local network, Westlaw and LexisNexis, and the Internet.

The Law Library, through its recent move to the new location, provides seating and study room space sufficient for the great increase in the student body expected in the coming years.

The library has a full-time staff of 3 librarians and 1 part-time technician. The Library's professional staff is available to assist all users of the collection.

The Law Library is located on the 18th Floor of Atlanta's John Marshall Law School. 

ASK THE LIBRARIAN
If you need information not available through our website, the Atlanta's John Marshall Law School librarians may be able to assist you. You can send your request to askthelibrarian@johnmarshall.edu, and one of our librarians will reply to your request.
 

FOOD & DRINK POLICY 
The Food & Drink Policy is to help make the Law Library an inviting place to study while preserving the collection and furnishings in the library. We ask your cooperation in complying with the following:

Food is not permitted in the law library.

Beverages in open containers are not permitted. Only covered beverage containers are permitted.

Meals are permitted in food services areas such as the Hub.

Thank you for your cooperation.

 

WELCOME TO THE LAW LIBRARY! 

 

Library Goals

  1. Provide access to legal research materials needed for a high-quality program of legal education
  2. Acquire and make accessible (through cataloging and shelving) the best collection of law books, databases and other material consistent with available resources.
  3. Provide, through purchase or inter-library loan, the materials needed by faculty for research and development of their ideas.
  4. Provide a suitable space for study and legal research for students and faculty.
  5. Increase awareness in students and faculty of the resources of the library, particularly on-line materials.
  6. Assist students in the development of research strategies and use of legal research materials.
  7. Respond to the requirements of legal research and writing faculty for library tours, and research exercises.
  8. Provide assistance to alumni in using the library's collections, so long as this can be done without impairing service to faculty and students.