With over 450 entries covering crimes against humanity and human rights violations, this encyclopedia gives a concise and comprehensive look at past and present war criminals. Articles contained within cover information about the criminals and their countries, activist, opposition organizations, and treaties enacted in response. This set also includes Appendices, Selected Bibliography, and Resources for Research Choice establishes the Encyclopedia of war crimes and genocide as a great reference source, “the inclusion of the text of international laws and documents and an annotated list of human rights organizations enhance the work's reference value.”

NUREMBERG TRIALS - VOL 7, pp. 285-291:

This thirteen volume set provides nearly 5,000 entries to legal concepts, cases and movements that have shaped U.S. law. The Nuremberg trials article covers the discussion of the international handling of Nazi criminals, the creation of the tribunal and judicial procedures, the different charges against the defendants, and the final judgments of major Nazi military figures. Amazon praises West's encyclopedia of American law additional features which include “time lines for all biographical entries that show important moments in the subject's life as well as important historical events, a dictionary of legal terms, an index of cases, and a general index.”

With over 350 well documented entries, ranging from 500-5000 words, this 3 volume set is one of the premiere reference works on the topic of crimes against humanity. While the Nazi War Crimes may be emphasized, this work also provides excellent and balanced referential information on the history of many other genocide acts throughout the ages. Booklist’s statement, “This outstanding comprehensive sourcebook of the worst in human behavior throughout history also includes instances of some of the best responses.” establishes Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity as a must view for any war crimes research

While those in command of the Third Reich needed to be justly held accountable for their actions, many controversies remain on whether the Nuremberg trials were handled properly. In a scholarly review, the actions of those involved with the Nuremberg trials are questioned and analyzed as to their far-reaching effects of today. Reference and Research Book News’ summarizes this text as “Scholars of law, politics, and other disciplines here ponder its impact on government behavior, first in the immediate post-war period, then today, more than half a century and some two generations late.”

A collection of over 32 articles and essays, from those involved in the Tribunal, this title expounds on the historical and legal consequences of the Nuremberg trials. Also, included are academic debates on issues that grew from the outcome of the trials. According to Choice “this collection ... offer[s] a broad and rich spectrum of views on the proceedings and the diversity of opinions should permit readers to form their own views about the value and significance of that process.”

Publishers Weekly best summarizes The anatomy of the Nuremberg trials: A personal memoir “The chief prosecutor of the four-power Nuremberg trials (1945-1946) delivers the ultimate insider's account of the war-crimes prosecution of surviving Nazi leaders.” With almost 50 years of reflection, Taylor’s work gives you a balanced looked into the world of the most famous war crimes trial. While concluded that the right decisions were ultimately made, Taylor does not hold back on explaining his disdain on some of the controversial decisions of the proceedings. Choice states “Taylor's reflections and evaluations alone make this volume an unparalleled resource.”

26 Law and History Review, 679

Borgwardt’s article gives an expansive view on the hidden agendas behind the Nuremberg trials. This article gives a perspective on how the U.S. viewed the Nuremberg trials under the idea of “de-nazifiction” to prevent another World War and the shortcoming of such a plan. Next, is a review of how the trials were created to form the basis for the legal ideas of human rights and postwar international judicial order (international court). Finally, there is a comparison of the vast differences between the emphasis placed on the Nuremberg trials over the Tokyo trials.

40 Studies in Transnational Legal Policy 9

This article is a panel discussion review on the topic of “Nuremberg, Today and Our Posterity” with three attorneys who were “junior” attorneys during the primary Nuremberg trials who went on to prosecute the defendant’s in the Nuremberg subsequent proceedings. Researchers can gain from each of the three men a personal perspective on what the Nuremberg trials were like that may not be seen in published trial proceedings and also the results they have seen from the trials that has affected international law.

39 Studies in Transnational Legal Policy 155

In his article, Scheffer gives an excellent view into the process behind the Nuremberg trials. The article covers the processes the allied powers used in choosing which persons and criminal organization to indict and prosecute. Scheffer also questions whether the trial was “victor’s justice”, if there were possible alternatives to the Nuremberg Tribunal, and the enforcement of retroactive justice for holding people criminally responsible for conduct that was not illegal at the time it occurred.