Introduction

This is a brief research guide for information for creating accounts and accessing various library electronic research resources.

Bureau of National Affairs (BNA) is located in Bloomberg Law .

 

Bloomberg BNA provides legal, tax and compliance professionals with critical information, practical guidance and workflow solutions. BNA publishes more than 350 print and electronic news and legal analysis, delivers nonpartisan labor and employment news, and guidance. A full list of BNA titles can be found at www.bna.com

 

Also, BNA recommends the following Bloomberg BNA resources to help students prepare for classroom discussions as follows:

Law School Courses:                                   Recommended BNA Product(s)

Advanced Legal Research                             The United States Law Week

Constitutional Law                                           The United States Law Week

Criminal Law                                                    Criminal Law Reporter

Criminal Law                                                    White Collar Crime Report

Ethics/Legal Responsibility                             ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct

Federal Tax                                                       Daily Tax Report

Federal Tax                                                      Tax Management Portfolios

Federal Tax                                                      Tax Practice Series 

Health Law                                                       Health Law Resource Center

Intellectual Property                                         Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal

Intellectual Property                                         Intellectual Property Law Resource Center

Labor & Employment Law                              Daily Labor Report

Labor & Employment Law                              BNA's Employment Discrimination Report

Labor & Employment Law                              Labor & Employment Law Resource Center

Legal Research                                               The United States Law Week

Legal Research                                                All specialty publications

Pro Bono Clinic                                               The Family Law Reporter

Pro Bono Clinic                                               Criminal Law Reporter

GALILEO  stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

 

What You Can Do With GALILEO

 

• GALILEO offers consumer-related resources for making

informed decisions:

Consumer Health Complete from EBSCO

Consumer Reports magazine

Georgia Health Go Local guide to health services in Georgia

• Find your ancestors in GALILEO’s genealogy resources:

HeritageQuest Online

— uncover the records of the past

Ancestry - library edition

— discover family histories

• GALILEO has databases designed for students working on

school projects and research papers:

SIRS Discoverer

— topics for K-8 students

SIRS Researcher

— topics for high school students

• Working on a college assignment?

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO offers thousands of

scholarly, peer-reviewed publications

• GALILEO has information on kid-friendly websites that are

reviewed for quality and child safety:

SIRS SKS WebSelect

— offers the best of the Web for K-12

KidsClick!

— websites selected for kids by librarians

• Are you in a book club, or just want to read something new?

NoveList and NoveList K-8

— readers’ advisory for fiction readers of all ages

• GALILEO includes many treasures from Georgia’s history,

government, and culture:

Vanishing Georgia

— over 15,000 pictures of Georgia’s past

The Digital Library of Georgia

— digitized books, manuscripts, diaries, Georgia’s Sanborn® maps, and more

Georgia Government Publications

— everything from state parks to state statistics and reports

The New Georgia Encyclopedia

— stories of Georgia through the ages

 

Find It, Read It, Link It, Cite It

 

• Find your favorite magazines with Journals A-Z

• Set up alerts to receive emails when new issues of certain

magazines are added to GALILEO

• Access a number of encyclopedias via GALILEO’s

Browse by Type

• Looking for images? Use the multi-search function to discover

images in multiple GALILEO resources at one time

• Save your articles! Set up a personal account in some databases

to save, email, print, or create a bibliography

Ask Mary Wilson and AJ Doucett for details on how to access GALILEO’s full suite of online resources.

HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online product with more than 138 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law and law-related periodicals.

HeinOnline’s Core Package includes the following databases:

 

Lexis Advance

 

"Lexis Advance is a powerful resource for online legal research."  This resource is available for  AJMLS faculty and students. The registration code is required to set-up an account to access Lexis Advance. Students may use their account for academic purposes.

 

Please contact our Lexis Advance  representative for information regarding the resource. Ms. Tracy Templeton, Esq., is the Lexis Advance Senior Account Executive. She can be reached at tracy.templeton@lexisnexis.com .

 

ProQuest Congressional offers a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present.

Westlaw Next

 

"Westlaw Next is a leading online research tool." This resource is available for AJMLS faculty, staff, and students. The Registration Key is required to set-up an account to access Westlaw Next. Students may use their account for academic purposes.

 

Please contact our Westlaw Next representative, for information regarding service.  Ms. Sue Moore, J.D., is the Thomson West Academic Account Manager. She can be reached at sue.moore@thomson.com .

Contact Professor Lynch or Mary Wilson to request an Authorization Code for an  account registration with Bloomberg Law., Lexis Advance, and Westlaw Next:

 

Faculty and Staff   -  Contact Professor Lynch, mlynch@johnmarshall.edu

 

Students                 -   Contact Mary Wilson, mewilson@johnmarshall.edu