Introduction

This is a research guide for use with the Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS).

Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS) is a multi-volume national legal encyclopedia. The contents of CJS covers state and federal legal topics, which in turn are arranged into subheadings.Articles within topics begin with a general rule of law and are followed by the exceptions and qualifications to that general rule. The set contains multi-volume general index and individual topic indexes located at KF 154.C66. Annual pocket parts are published to supplement the volumes with relevant new cases and statutory changes.

Reserve Room - 4th floor - KF 154.C66

Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS) is comprehensive and provides lengthy footnotes which provides citations to mostly cases and some statutes. Begin your research in the General Index.

The General Index leads to the main volumes of CJS. Locate a topic and section number from the General Index and locate the main volume covering the topic. Then look at the specific section number in the volume. Annual pocket parts are published to supplement the volumes with relevant new cases and statutory changes.

The articles can be helpful as a general introduction to an area of law.

CJS in Print:

CJS consists of a multi-volume set of books located in the Reserve Room on the 4th floor at KF 154 .C66.

The set consists of the following:

• All cases fully referenced to West Key Number System®
• Complete citations and relevant histories of each case
• A multivolume general index and individual topic indexes
• Annual pocket parts are published to supplement the volumes

CJS Online in Westlaw Next*:

Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS) is a national legal encyclopedia that covers state and federal legal topics. It is available online only in Westlaw Next*:

"CJS supplies general rules of law, summarized in "Black Letter" headings and expanded upon in the text. Limitations and exceptions are also included where appropriate. Since the citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country, together with discussions of relevant federal law that may affect the issue. CJS topics are reflective of the West Key Number System."

*Requires password.