Introduction

This is a brief research guide for the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and the Index to the Code of Federal Regulations are available online, in print in the Library, and in microform.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1; and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations to the CFR refer to material at the section level.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is available online in the following resources:

Bloomberg Law*

• Coverage:  03/1936 to Current
• Description:  The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
• Search:  Legislative & Regulatory - Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

Lexis Advance**

• Coverage:  From March 14, 1936 through current; coverage begins with 1 FR 1.
• Description:  Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) contains the full text of all documents that are published in the Federal Register.
• Search:  Administrative Codes & Regulations - Registers - Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

Westlaw Next***

* Subscription password required

** Subscription password required

*** Subscription password required

National Archives/GPO

The online edition of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is issued under the authority of the Administrative Committee of the Federal Register.

On the National Archives and Records/GPO Websites:

The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a regularly updated, unofficial editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office.

The Federal Register is available online in the following resources:

Bloomberg Law*

• Coverage:  Current
• Description: The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States.
• Search:  Legislative & Regulatory - Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

Lexis Advance**

• Coverage:  Current through present issue of the Federal Register.
• Description:  The CFR - Code of Federal Regulations file contains the full text of all titles from the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The CFR is a codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published originally in the Federal Register by executive departments and agencies of the federal government. CFR archives are available from 1981.
• Search:  Administrative Codes & Regulations - Administrative Codes - Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).

Westlaw Next***

* Subscription password required

** Subscription password required

*** Subscription password required

National Archives/GPO

The online edition of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is issued under the authority of the Administrative Committee of the Federal Register. 

GPO/ FEDsys

Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition)

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1; and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations to the CFR refer to material at the section level.

Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules for the Code of Federal Regulations and the United States Code
Text | PDF

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is available in print on the 5th floor of the library:

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in print is located on the 5th floor of the library at KF 70 .A33

Code of Federal Regulations: List of Sections Affected (LSA) in print is located on the 5th floor of the library at KF 70 .A5

Index to the Code of Federal Regulations in print is located on the 5th floor of the library at KF 70 .A34 I46