Introduction
Overview
This is a brief research guide for use with the American Law Reports (ALR).
The American Law Reports (ALR)
The American Law Reports (ALR) is a multi-volume set of books that has been published since the early 1900s by Lawyers-Cooperative Publishing Company and more recently by West Publishing Company of Thomson Reuters.
American Law Reports (ALR) is a secondary source that provides citations to primary source materials as well as citations to law review articles and additional resources. Library Location: 5th Floor - KF 132 .A5 to KF 132.2 .I53 1992.
The ALR is published in series which include two original series under the title Lawyers Reports Annotated and eight series (ALR 1st, ALR 2d, ALR 3d, ALR 4th, ALR 5th ALR 6th, and ALR Federal 1st and ALR Federal 2nd. The contents of ALR covers
ALR in Print and Online
ALR In Print:
Print volumes of ALR are shelved on the 5th floor of the Law Library at KF 132. To check and update research in ALR Annotations, examine the following volumes:
For ALR 1st, check the ALR Blue Book of Supplemental Decisions.For ALR 2nd, check the ALR2d Later Case Service.
For ALR3d, ALR 4th, ALR 5th, and ALR 6th, check the pocket parts in each volume and ALR Index.
Our print ALR sets are no longer being updated.
ALR Online in Westlaw Next* and Lexis Advance**:
American Law Reports (ALR) is available in print and online in both Westlaw and Lexis The ALR is updated regularly in both Westlaw Next and Lexis Advance. The General Index leads to the main volumes of ALR. Locate a topic and section number from the General Index and locate the main volume covering the topic. Then look at the specific section number in the volume. The articles can be helpful as a general introduction to an area of law.
-
American Law Reports (ALR) on Westlaw Next*
Search all of American Law Reports (ALR) above or navigate to specific full text annotation topics. -
American Law Reports (ALR) on Lexis Advance**The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Federal and Federal Second Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.Contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Federal and Federal Second Series.
*Requires a password.
**Requires a password.
